DRESS REHEARSAL : TAKE ONE

ONE OF MY LEAST READ, MOST DESERVING ESSAYS
WAS ABOUT MY MOM. SHE’D BE 101 TODAY.
I’ve been blessed with 300+ more sweet peeps since it ran so I’m reposting it because…you know. I so loved my mom.

M A G P I E à la modus operandi

Mom & Me Kiss
A week after my father died in 1969, my mom bought her burial dress, a long-sleeved bevy of beige chiffon accordion pleats with contoured organdy hemlines and cuffs resembling parched petunias.

The collar was fashioned into a multilayered sash, cresting the shoulders and flowing down the back to veil the neck and screen the zipper. A peach taffeta sheath shimmered underneath.

“Everyone knows a wife dies seven years after her husband,” Mom declared.

“Is that the law?” I asked.

“It is,” she assured.

“And, if you don’t die, what then? Do they give you a ticket?”

Mom flashed me the look of admonishment that every parent keeps ready to actuate in times of insolence.

“It’s a glorious dress,” she said.

“Yes,” I conceded. “A veritable work of art.”

My mom was never as thin as she thought she was, or planned to be. After 56 years, six children and a…

View original post 741 more words

Leave a Reply

